I am new here my friend refer me to this forum but i was amazed to see malware problem please check admin this will loose your users activity. it is not a good sign...
Yeh come on guys. Apart from the fact that someone says this site has malicious software on it that can be harmful, it is dam annoying coming from google to the site, which is what I do.
It's not anything that the mods can address. There have been three separate periods over the last week or so that this has happened. I have alerted one of the admins each time. I believe there is also a Twitter account for the forum, but I'm not sure who monitors it.
I don't know the specifics at all. My understanding is that the issue relates to ads. Google finds something it doesn't like, and this is what results in the warnings. So the admins have to clean something up, and then convince Google that the site is ok. This takes time, which is why the warnings tend to take a day or so to go away. We've either been hit several times recently, or not getting it cleaned up properly. Seems to happen every few months or so, although before this batch it had been quite a while since the previous issue.
I've been personally alerting sib via email. iseff is the other admin that I know about. These are the guys who need to know when this happens, as they are the ones who can address it. Reporting posts doesn't do any good.
__________________
Do not quote questionable posts.
Do not post moderator requests in public. Report the post or send a PM. <----- Use the red flag button to report posts.
This is probably the last time I'm posting on iphonedevsdk. There are a lot of devs here with iTunes dev accounts and maybe that's why it's being targeted. I can't risk my info being stolen b/c of malware.
Hi,
this is getting annoying. Are the admin working on this ? I start wondering if this forum is actually a safe place.
EDIT: sorry I've just read this :
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhade
It's not anything that the mods can address.
Hmmm ads causing the malware warning ... I don't think so.
My browser was actually several times redirected to another junk site just by typing 'http://www.iphonedevsdk.com/forum/' so I believe there could be some kind of code injection somewhere.
Hi,
this is getting annoying. Are the admin working on this ? I start wondering if this forum is actually a safe place.
EDIT: sorry I've just read this :
Hmmm ads causing the malware warning ... I don't think so.
My browser was actually several times redirected to another junk site just by typing 'http://www.iphonedevsdk.com/forum/' so I believe there could be some kind of code injection somewhere.
cheers
same here - btw just clicked to reply to this post and got a av warning
Quote:
Category: Intrusion Prevention
Date & Time,Risk,Activity,Status,Recommended Action,IPS Alert Name,Default Action,Action Taken,Attacking Computer,Attacker URL,Destination Address,Source Address,Traffic Description
2011-11-29 08:34:21,High,An intrusion attempt by Suspended Domain was blocked.,Blocked,No Action Required,Web Attack: Malicious Exploit kit Website,No Action Required,No Action Required,"www.vckfukp.cjb.net (89.187.53.235, 80)",www.vckfukp.cjb.net/ibput0sq/?2,"CINEK-PC (192.168.1.66, 52257)",89.187.53.235 (89.187.53.235),"TCP, www-http"
Network traffic from <b>www.vckfukp.cjb.net</b> matches the signature of a known attack. The attack was resulted from \DEVICE\HARDDISKVOLUME3\PROGRAM FILES (X86)\MOZILLA FIREFOX\FIREFOX.EXE. To stop being notified for this type of traffic, in the <b>Actions</b> panel, click <b>Stop Notifying Me</b>. Network traffic from <b>www.vckfukp.cjb.net/ibput0sq/?2</b> matches the signature of a known attack. The attack was resulted from \DEVICE\HARDDISKVOLUME3\PROGRAM FILES (X86)\MOZILLA FIREFOX\FIREFOX.EXE. To stop being notified for this type of traffic, in the <b>Actions</b> panel, click <b>Stop Notifying Me</b>.
Hi all,
I apologize immensely for these warnings. There's basically two things that happen here.
1) vBulletin isn't exactly the most secure piece of software. Neither are some of the plugins that this site uses, including vbSEO. In addition, upgrading this software isn't particularly easy (but *is* completely untestable).
2) Because users can log in and create signatures of their own, they can include images that may redirect to malware without us ever knowing.
In general, the problem is actually #2. We've been trying to figure out the right way to handle this, mostly because we want you to have the ability to have images.
In this particular instance, it actually seems like it might be #1, but we're still investigating. Unfortunately, finding the _actual_ malware on the site is extremely difficult (and, in some cases, impossible, because they are spammers and the posts get created, Google indexes them, we delete the posts, then Google turns on the malware warning, and we have no way of knowing if we already deleted the post or not).
So, again, our sincere apologies. We realize there's really no reason for this to ever happen. Unfortunately, it does. Far too frequently.
We're going to do our best to resolve the immediate issue as soon as possible, and then think long and hard about how best to resolve it long term (including potentially moving off vBulletin altogether).
This is probably the last time I'm posting on iphonedevsdk. There are a lot of devs here with iTunes dev accounts and maybe that's why it's being targeted. I can't risk my info being stolen b/c of malware.
I don't follow - what exactly are you afraid of here?
I don't follow - what exactly are you afraid of here?
Malware being installed through javascript or other exploits that allows the attacker to monitor your keystrokes/web activity, allowing them to capture your iTunes connect user name and password, thus siphoning off all your profits..
It's really ridiculous that the admins here have not fixed the issue.. There's obviously a major security hole in this site that goes unpatched.. Everytime the MalWare page appears I'm sure a good percentage of users quit coming back, for good reason.
Malware being installed through javascript or other exploits that allows the attacker to monitor your keystrokes/web activity, allowing them to capture your iTunes connect user name and password, thus siphoning off all your profits..
It's really ridiculous that the admins here have not fixed the issue.. There's obviously a major security hole in this site that goes unpatched.. Everytime the MalWare page appears I'm sure a good percentage of users quit coming back, for good reason.
Luckily there aren't a lot of known viruses/malware targeting mac users... but this site is obviously being targeted by someone.... a virus/malware targeting macs is by no means technically infeasible.