I am not saying that it has malware! It is a false positive.
I seem to be getting false positive warnings about malware on this forum when browsing on Safari. Is anyone else getting these? Obviously it is a false positive, but it is quite annoying.
I am not saying that it has malware! It is a false positive.
I seem to be getting false positive warnings about malware on this forum when browsing on Safari. Is anyone else getting these? Obviously it is a false positive, but it is quite annoying.
What is the current listing status for iPhone Dev SDK
This site is not currently listed as suspicious.
Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over the past 90 days.
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 1022 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 155 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2010-10-19, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2010-10-19.
Malicious software includes 3 exploit(s). Successful infection resulted in an average of 1 new process(es) on the target machine.
Malicious software is hosted on 5 domain(s), including crossliuk.co.cc/, yrekalsi.co.cc/, ocean-tube.com/.
3 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including crossliuk.co.cc/, 4safe.in/, tinypic.info/.
This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS33070 (RMH).
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, iPhone Dev SDK did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.
Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
Next steps:
Return to the previous page.
If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google's Webmaster Help Center.
I'm using Safari.
I get a warning on every link I click, and it takes 2 clicks to get past each warning. First, the "contains malware" warning with an ignore warning button. Then an "are you sure" button.
This renders this site all but unusable.
The site admins need to fix this, and post a definitive statement as to the cause, and a work-around for various browser configurations.
I sure won't be sending much time here until this is resolved.
Check out this password generator app that shows various techniques including using a data container singleton object to share data between objects in your project.
I am not saying that it has malware! It is a false positive.
I seem to be getting false positive warnings about malware on this forum when browsing on Safari. Is anyone else getting these? Obviously it is a false positive, but it is quite annoying.
FWIW, I don't think anyone knows enough to say that it's a false positive. I suspect it is the result of a true positive (although it may require you to click a specific ad to get the malware).
can always just turn off the alert in your browser prefs. obviously, this site is pretty safe and I would believe that most of the members are smart enough to not get themselves into hot water with actual malicious sites if they turned the alert off. Easy fix on the user side.
can always just turn off the alert in your browser prefs. obviously, this site is pretty safe and I would believe that most of the members are smart enough to not get themselves into hot water with actual malicious sites if they turned the alert off. Easy fix on the user side.
Yeh and I won't bother wearing my seatbelt whilst driving because I'm a good driver.
About a half a week ago the iphonedevsdk site was redireded by google.
On the morning of Nov 18 I went to the site and right when I left, the broswer (ie9) had a popup asking if I want to run an exe file that was in the explorer temp directory, when I hit cancle it popped up again.
I did ctl-all del and stopped the process from task mgr.
I know there was a tweet dated Nov 15 that all was clear, but this issue indicates that it is not.
If you go to google.com and type in the search bar:
iphonedevsdk
the autocompletion will show
iphonedevsdk
iphonedevsdk forum
iphonedevsdk malware
this would indicate that this site is highly associated with malware.
I just started to learn ios dev and this seems to be a top site as far as google hits, but it also has been fighting a virus distribution problem for years.
I think the site owners should escalate this higher than they have in the past years.
Until things get fixed I am only going on this site with my unimportant computer.
I hope that they have done something since the Nov 15 tweet.
About a half a week ago the iphonedevsdk site was redireded by google.
On the morning of Nov 18 I went to the site and right when I left, the broswer (ie9) had a popup asking if I want to run an exe file that was in the explorer temp directory, when I hit cancle it popped up again.
I did ctl-all del and stopped the process from task mgr.
I know there was a tweet dated Nov 15 that all was clear, but this issue indicates that it is not.
If you go to google.com and type in the search bar:
iphonedevsdk
the autocompletion will show
iphonedevsdk
iphonedevsdk forum
iphonedevsdk malware
this would indicate that this site is highly associated with malware.
I just started to learn ios dev and this seems to be a top site as far as google hits, but it also has been fighting a virus distribution problem for years.
I think the site owners should escalate this higher than they have in the past years.
Until things get fixed I am only going on this site with my unimportant computer.
I hope that they have done something since the Nov 15 tweet.
I can't tell for certain but I seriously doubt the exe came directly from iphonedevsdk.com. Being an open forum any malicious person and more often spam bot can post a link to a malicious page or file. As far as Google software is concerned the iphonedevsdk contains links to malicious pages and thus gets red flagged.
As a side note, most users visiting are most likely on Mac OS and not Windows so they wont be affected by traditional viruses. Not that that excuses the problem.
I can't tell for certain but I seriously doubt the exe came directly from iphonedevsdk.com. Being an open forum any malicious person and more often spam bot can post a link to a malicious page or file. As far as Google software is concerned the iphonedevsdk contains links to malicious pages and thus gets red flagged.
As a side note, most users visiting are most likely on Mac OS and not Windows so they wont be affected by traditional viruses. Not that that excuses the problem.
Thanks for the quick response,
my 2 concerns are:
1. I got the exe popup right after my 1st (unprotected (no google redirect)) visit to the site, a popup which I had never seen before. So I am pretty sure that I experience a real malware attempt. If the owners have done cleanup after Nov 18 then Great!, No Problem!
2. The malware issue seems to have been around since 2009 or before. I hope the owners do something beyond what they have tried in the past. I have seen the google redirect on fishy sites but not a top rated forum.
I'm using my mac for ios dev and my pc to lookup answers to problems, and this site seams to have a lot of good answers.